Neither snow, nor rain, nor heat, nor gloom of night…and all that good stuff.

What does Louise do to celebrate Christmas? Here is an excerpt from HOW FAR IS HEAVEN?”, the second Louise Golden mystery:

All that stood between me and sudden death was a faded yellow line.

Westbound commuters, hepped up on coffee, whizzed past me. God bless caffeine.

My portable radio blared Jingle Bell Rock.  I considered flinging it out the window, but I was waiting for the six o’clock evening news. After the news, I’d fling the radio.

My name is Louise Golden, better known this time of year as Louise McScrooge. I work for the U.S. Postal Service. Neither snow, nor rain, nor heat, nor gloom of night…and all that good stuff. In Hawaii we don’t have to worry about snow, but the rain in winter can be real humbug.

My headlights reflected off the wet road. I leaned forward, hoping the change in position would ease the pain in my back. I’d spent the last twelve hours delivering Christmas cards and packages in this miserable weather. I was cold, I was wet, I was beyond exhausted.

Santa Louise. Ho ho ho, merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Neither snow, nor rain, nor heat, nor gloom of night…and all that good stuff.

  1. Laurie I was already totally in to that little excerpt! When it ended I felt such a let down! I can’t wait for this new book to be released!

  2. after reading your first book and enjoying every syllable of , it is as traveling again trough all those beautiful places and the whole mixture population of Hawaii, I want more,
    looking forward for the next story
    thanks Laury
    Annie Shafir

Leave a Reply

